Photodesign Activity

I learned to use Photoshop!  The idea was to become familiar with some basic photography concepts and Photoshop edits. First I had to think about what kind of message and color scheme I would want in a photo. Then I wandered around campus looking for opportunities to shoot a photo like that. With the very little time available to me, I searched most of campus and met many people, taking, of course, many pictures. Here’s what came of it:

Outdoor Lighting

Outdoor Lighting – This shot of the Spori Building was taken in the late afternoon to get the desired lighting. The lamppost helps to form thirds with the edge of the roof, and the shadows cause a little value contrast on the side of the building.

Indoor Lighting

Indoor Lighting – We found some dancers practicing in the skywalk between the Hart Building and the I-Center. The diffused light from the window offers a great softening effect. Their clothing and the ambient lighting was great for my intended color scheme (I didn’t even have to use snow).

Foreground Focus - My ginger-haired colleagues were appropriately positioned, so I took some focus shots with them as the focal points.

Foreground Focus – My ginger-haired colleagues were appropriately positioned, so I took some focus shots with them as the focal points. Fixing the colors on these shots was tricky, due to the lighting– and our chilled, red ears. The cold affects the skin tones quite a bit.

Background Focus

Background Focus – For the difference between these two similar shots, I simply moved the camera’s focus point from his face to hers. Thankfully she turned, making a more interesting pose.

Rule of Thirds - The scene directly outside the Spori Building, looking toward the library, was perfect for demonstrating the rule of thirds.

Rule of Thirds – The scene directly outside the Spori Building, looking toward the library, was perfect for demonstrating the rule of thirds. The lighting was clear and a little stark at that time of day, with the trees for the side-thirds, and the edge of the building and the raised pedestal in the foreground forming the top and bottom thirds.

Leading Room - My friend Baylee now has enough room to breathe, thanks to the leading room in front of her face.

Leading Room – My friend Baylee now has enough room to breathe, thanks to the leading room in front of her face. We found a bookshelf, grabbed a book, and chose an angle. Leaving enough space in front of the direction she is facing allows for her to seem free and relaxed.

Leave a Reply

